Honors

Seven school board members earn All-State honors; Sara Weis wins Rising Star award

Seven board members were presented **MSBA All-State School Board** honors at MSBA's Leadership Conference January 13 for their work to improve student success and their school districts.

The 2022 MSBA All-State School Board is comprised of:

- Megan Morrison (Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City),
- Matthew Lemke (Fergus Falls),
- Sharon Kipka (Foley),
- Steve Adams (Hopkins),
- Sharon Ballou (Little Falls),
- Kevin Donovan (Mahtomedi), and
- Jim Ferden (Win-E-Mac).

Since 1971, MSBA's awards committee selects up to seven individual board members to the All-State School Board. There are nearly 2,400 school board members in Minnesota. Board members are nominated by superintendents, fellow board members, parents or community members for their outstanding contributions to public education.

"The All-State School Board represents the highest example of board service," MSBA Executive Director Kirk Schneidawind said. "These are school board members who are committed to student achievement, determined to build support for their local schools and unwavering in their pursuit of what's best for students."

Elk River Area School Board Member Sara Weis was awarded MSBA's Rising Star honor. The award is given to board members in their first term to recognize their drive to improve themselves and their energy and passion for improving their schools and helping students.



The 2022 MSBA All-State School Board: (top, from left to right) Sharon Ballou (Little Falls), Steve Adams (Hopkins), Megan Morrison (Atwater-Cosmos-Grove City), (bottom, left to right) Jim Ferden (Win-E-Mac), Kevin Donovan (Mahtomedi), Matthew Lemke (Fergus Falls), and (pictured below) Sharon Kipka (Foley).

Below: Sharon Kipka (Foley) was named to the 2022 MSBA All-State School Board but wasn't available for the group photo above.



Right: Elk River Area School Board Member Sara Weis was presented with MSBA's Rising Star Award during the Leadership Conference Recognition Luncheon held January 13 at the Minneapolis Convention Center.

